Fully Restored

Early one morning, from the 11th floor of my office building, I watched the sun rise over the harbour. I noticed how slowly and surely the light began to paint all the shadows of the landscape, from the valleys and into the hills. The darkness retreated silently as the brilliant light invaded the hills, valleys and the streets. The sun rose and blinded everything in its path. The sun set the clouds on fire in a swirl of red and orange, and everything reflected and basked in its glory.

C.S Lewis once said, “I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else”. What a great way to see how the sun restores our world each day.

I work in an open plan office and have moved desks a few times in the last five years, to make way for more staff, and more progress. I feel a sense of comfort in knowing where my desk is and knowing that it will be in the same place each day. When I move I take some time to adjust. Soon we will be moving again. When I looked at the new floor plan I noticed that our team will be moving back to the North side of the building to a place where we had come from about 12 months ago. To the place where I took this photo.

I laughed at the irony of coming full circle. As soon as the thought came to me, another thought replaced it – fully restored. This was not my thought, it was placed in my head.

Change, even as trivial as moving desks, can be a great metaphor for life. I believe that over the last 12 months God has brought me full circle and into a place of rest and restoration. From this place, the view seems different. Everything seems to reflect the glory of God, particularly the sunrises and sunsets.

God wants to supersize your dreams. He can do more than you can even ask or think!  ~ Joel Osteen

God wants to bring us all to this place. In this place God reveals Himself and His plans for us. To be fully restored is to be fully engaged with what God has in store for us. It is a place of determined dreams and vast visions. God can do so much more than we ever dream, imagine or ask. What an exciting place to be. Sure, life still goes on – the hills and the valleys. In the place of restoration, a hill is where we can see and dream, and a valley is where we can rest and drink. The valleys are the only places where the sustainable rivers flow. It is a journey and a destination all at the same time.

Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. ~ Psalm 51:12

So what about you my friend? Have you been to this place of rest and restoration? Are you searching, have you found what you’re looking for? Will you share your story of searching or finding here or somewhere this week? Your story may just give life, light and hope to someone travelling this road.

Fully Restored

Through the furnace flames
By the light of my sword
I brought you home
Fully restored

Through the darkened room
I unlocked your door
I bring you here
Fully restored

Through your brokenness
Forgiven and flawed
I brought you here
Fully restored

Through all your days
By my accord
I’ll light you path
Fully restored

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

