Excess Baggage

Hi Everyone, David here.

In classic Greek mythology, Pandora was the first woman on earth. Legend has it that the gods endowed her with many talents: Aphrodite gave her beauty, Apollo music, Hermes persuasion. The gods also gave her the gift of curiosity. Her name Pandora means “all-giving.”  Of course, all this is just a myth, as Eve was the first woman on earth, but let’s continue anyway . . .

Pandora’s box is an artifact in Greek mythology, commonly thought to be a large jar . The “box” contained all the dark things of the  world. When Pandora opened the jar, the entire contents of the jar were released, she hastened to close the lid, but the whole contents of the jar had escaped, except for one thing that lay at the bottom, which was Hope.  Today, opening Pandora’s box means to create things that cannot be undone.

luggage-1950628_960_720

We all have excess baggage or our own Pandora’s box.  In my box are memories and feelings of rejection, failure, low self-esteem, along with others.  Some of these I have worked through and some remain.  I am torn between leaving them in my box and opening them and letting them out.  Either way there is usually some collateral damage. The only real answer is to give my box away to God and let him deal my burdens.  I will keep and hold on to hope, but I need to choose to ditch the rest.

What’s in your box?  Is it open or shut? Have you given it away? Here’s my take on what I need to give away.  Grace and peace.

Pandora’s Box

Deep in my heart I need to make
Some room for you once more.
As my feelings and emotions
Wedge themselves against my door.

I hear you knocking at the door
Of my heart today.
But what lies between you and me
Is all my baggage in the way.

My feelings have cost me much
All that I hold dear.
Some friends have come, but mostly gone
I’ll lose more face I fear.

So I’ve found my Pandora’s box
To pack all my feelings back in.
I’m sitting on that box
And tying it up with string.

I’ll leave that box outside my heart
And wait for you to call.
I’ve addressed my burden, ‘To my God’
Please come and take them all.

Open the door to my heart
Please fill the empty space inside.
Come in and make me whole
From you may I never hide.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.
~ Matthew 11:28-30

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

