No Hurry

Hi everyone. Rob here.

Yesterday was a great day. We finished off our project of digging out the space for our driveway extension. We went to the museum and then bought our daughter a new pet mouse. I played golf! We had the children’s friends come for a sleep over and went for a night walk in the bush to see glowworms. There was even time for some rest and reading. I have to remind myself that it was a great day because in the midst of it I managed to break my glasses and lose my wedding ring (a cheapish replacement for an already lost ring). In my haste to get to the golf course and then get ready for the round I made some poor decisions which led to the 2 mishaps.

I watched a John Ortberg video once and he quoted from the late Dallas Willard, saying what we needed if we wanted to grow in the Christian life. This was the advice:

You must ruthlessly eliminate hurry from your life

summer-789974_960_720Hurry, borne out of self-interest, led to a failure to take care of items that mattered to me, and threatened to ruin a great day. In the end I can replace the ring and glasses. The enduring memories of the day will be the times when I was fully present, not hurrying and allowing love and grace to flow in and through me. It begs the question though: has anything good for our soul ever come from hurrying? I may have caught a few buses on time, made the start of a movie and got in just before the shops closed, but, by and large, most of our hurrying is unhelpful and unnecessary. It’s a habit formed out of living in a busy, demanding world. It puts us out of step with the Spirit, out of touch with our hearts and creates disconnection with our relationships.

I once read an article called “The three and a half mile an hour God.” I don’t remember the article, just the title. Three and a half miles an hour is the average speed of our walking. God walks at our pace and invites us to walk with him. Jesus said “follow me” and then walked everywhere. Yes, we have seasons of busyness where there’s an urgency to how we use our time, but even in these seasons, hurry fails us. Slowing down, becoming prayerful and mindful, leads us to becoming fully engaged and, thus, more productive. Hurry leads to forgetfulness, carelessness and endless time fixing our mistakes. Hurry can make us feel busy and productive, but it’s an illusion. Presence means productivity, engagement means energy and slowing down in the presence of God leads to both.

So for today I choose to slow down. I choose to turn my heart towards the God who walks with me and away from the world urging me to speed up. I choose to listen more and speak less, walk and not drive, check my phone less and check my heart more and, most of all, to slow down and give thanks.

Grace and peace everyone.

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, God, heart, Holy Spirit, prayer, restoration, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Hurry

  1. Kiley Gray says:

    yes, so was an epic day. Loved what you shared about checking phone less and heart more. I might have to extend that to phone, email, messenger, trademe, facebook. Thanks for the reminder I can often be in a hurry trying to acheive more than the hour can manage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

