Learning Ourselves

Hi everyone. Rob here.

There’s one of those home and garden shows on TV serving as a reminder that my home handyman skills are seriously lacking (they’re now demolishing which is much more my forte!). Over the years, despite many valiant attempts, I am coming to accept that my skills lie elsewhere! This doesn’t mean I won’t try and learn new skills or outsource all the work in my domain to outsiders, but it does mean that I’ll accept my limitations even as I embrace my gifts.sunset-401541_960_720

We often fall into one of two traps. We ignore our limitations and push ahead until things turn into a disaster zone, or we become trapped by our limitations and become afraid to even try new things. One area where we struggle to know our capacity is in the realm of emotions. Have you ever hit an emotional wall and, before you know it you just can’t deal with people anymore? Or have you ever been surprised by how much emotional capacity you’ve possessed in certain situations? I’ve certainly experienced both and it reminds me how often we struggle to know ourselves and be self-aware.

Actually, the phrase ‘knowing ourselves’ is a bit of a misnomer. It’s more accurate to describe it as seeing ourselves as God sees us. God knows us and it’s his knowledge that we seek as we look to become more self-aware. We need Gods help because applying some sort of formula doesn’t work. We’re all created differently. Too much extroverted activity will wipe me out, but not enough means I turn too far inward. In prayer I ask God to show me the way forward to achieve the balance I need to thrive, whereby I’m present and engaged with people and alive in my spirit.

Jesus shows us the way. He would take time out to be present to the Father and, in turn, would be filled with his love so he could be present to people. His God-awareness meant he had self-awareness which gave him other-awareness. We too must seek God to renew our spirits so we can give love to others. This is the gift that learning ourselves gives. Let’s submit to God our teacher so we can all grow our capacity to love.

Love and grace.

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, Father, heart, prayer, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

