The Lighthouse Man

Hi everyone, David here

A few years ago I discovered a new band – The Waifs.   They hail from Western Australia.  It’s hard to describe their genre. The closest I can come to describe their music is a  curious combination of blues, jazz, roots, gospel, and world.  It’s a fairly unique blend and not everyone’s cup of tea.  For me the integrity of their lyrics and melodies are confronting.

portland-bill-849583_960_720

One of my favourite songs is Lighthouse (see link at the bottom of the post).  The imagery and story of the song has left a lasting impression on me.  It’s a common story – the story of seeking and finding.  My favourite part of the song:

We all need a lighthouse of our own
It gets so dark I can’t see which way I’m going
Lighthouse man I’m all at sea
Shine a little lighthouse light on me

Some days we all need a lighthouse man – someone to guide us and remind us where to go and bring us safely back to land.  Someone to guide us, someone to lead us, someone to bring light to our dark places.

May you this week recall the light that shines from the other side of the cross.  The light that shows us the cross.  May you turn your face to this light so that all your shadows fall far behind you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

