Ode to Joy

Greetings, David here.

Joy is the net of love by which you can catch souls. I love this quote by Mother Teresa. It describes exactly what I believe joy is and should be. In the pursuit of happiness we seem to have lost the idea of joy. If we don’t have joy what are we using for a net?

Some people have told me that I can get a bit excitable. I often overdo things. My friends tell me that I’m always on Facebook, commenting on everything and anything that moves on my news feed. I post a lot of comments, perhaps I feel I have a lot to say. Perhaps I need the approval of others.  Either way, I feel the need to spread joy. A lot of what I post are pictures and quotes that I think may be helpful for people. I like to think this is one way I can spread joy. Joy can go viral, it is contagious and more people need to catch it.

Interestingly, in the process of joy spreading, I can annoy people. I can be irritating, flippant, and just, well, a real pain in the butt. I know this – I get feedback.  Why don’t I stop? You would think that I would have learnt by now. The problem I have is that I have joy running through my veins – the joy of the Lord. It doesn’t look like it, it doesn’t show on my face, I keep it in check, most of the time. Every now and then though I let it rip – usually in social networking circles, commenting on posts, blogs and other stuff. Some people find this encouraging and uplifting, some find it irritating, and some probably just wish I would go away. I dance with joy on the inside.

Joy is the feeling of grinning inside.
~ Melba Colgrove

In the bible in Isaiah 55:12 it tells us to go out with joy and that the mountains and the hills will break forth before us in song and clapping. This is the joy of the Lord – pure joy. Often we don’t feel joyful, particularly when we are going through hard times – it is the last thing we feel like doing or being – joyful.

I’m not always been joyful, just ask those close to me. I’ve been negative, grumpy, irritating and generally morose for long periods of time. I’m trying to change – it’s fun, and I like it. In the process I have found peace – just like it says in Isaiah 55:12. Having joy is not dependent on things or situations. In fact the bible says that we are to consider it pure joy in our sufferings. I have finally found this joy, it is what I have been looking for.

So what about you my friend? Are you missing out on joy and peace? Do you know what the joy of the Lord feels like? Perhaps you could share your story here or somewhere this week. Why don’t you take a chance and be real? You may just help someone to find a seed of joy in their garden of suffering. Will you?

Pure Joy

You shall go out with joy
Like a fire in the wind
Like a storm closing in
It is my joy says the Lord

You shall be led forth with peace
Like a dance in the rain
Like the sun streaming in
It is my peace I leave with you

You will move your mountains
Like a mighty explosion
Like a burning breakthrough
It is your mustard seed of faith

Even the trees will clap their hands
For my joy is yours
My everlasting peace is yours
And your faith completes my joy

For you shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.
~ Isaiah 55:12

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

