I Need Jesus

Hi everyone. Rob here.

It’s a new year and that, for me anyway, leads to a deep seeking of God about my life? I bring to him questions like, “am I doing what I’m meant to be doing?” Is there anything in my life I need to deal with this year?” “Is there an area that you want me to grow in?” “Do you have any words for me?” There are sometimes more and different questions and sometimes there’s just one. The point is that I start the year surrendering my life back to God and allow him to write the script for the year. cruz-1092672__180

It’s so tempting to write our own script isn’t it? It’s also tempting to demand that we know the whole script beforehand. In Hebrews 12:2 Jesus is described as “the author and perfecter of our faith.” Jesus is not an author who is removed from the action however. The TNIV has translated the Greek word for author to pioneer. The writing of our stories involves Jesus coming in the flesh, dying on a cross, conquering the grave and defeating the devil’s claim on our lives. It involves his Spirit being poured out to us, filling us and leading us in a myriad of ways as we go about our lives. Jesus leads the way for us and reveals his will for us on a need-to-know basis. The lesson for us is this: Stay close to Jesus! He is the author, the pioneer, the perfecter and the hero of our stories.

In the end it’s not my questions that matter as much as who I’m taking those questions to. Also, those questions are simply a vehicle for presenting my heart to Jesus. You may have other vehicles that serve you just as well. I want my heart to be aligned with the truth that I know: I need Jesus, I love Jesus and I want more of Jesus. God always finds a way to remind me of that truth every January. This summer he has shown me where old habits have shown signs of life and I realise afresh that I need to die to the old and come alive to the new and that only God’s Spirit can help me do that. What is God showing you right now? How is he revealing your need for Jesus to you? If we all begin the year with that simple cry of the heart – I love you Jesus, I need you Jesus, give me more of you Jesus – then we’re in the place that God wants us to be.

Grace and peace everyone.

This entry was posted in Christ, Holy Spirit, surrender, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Need Jesus

  1. ‘ .. reveals His will on a need to know basis..” nice !!!

Leave a Reply

