For Today

Hi everyone. Rob here.

Last week I shared about the prospect of taking a friends funeral and dealing with a tumour in my Mum’s brain. I got through the funeral and my friend was honoured well. I received amazing support and love from my church family. I got to Christchurch thatprairie-679014_640 evening only to find out that Mum’s tumour was inoperable. As of right now, Mum is stable, sleepy and cheerful as she awaits a diagnosis after a biopsy. In other words, a huge cloud of uncertainty hangs over her future, but for today, she is good.

For today. These are two powerful words because they cut through the worries we hold over the future and the regrets we hold about the past. For today means that today I know I am loved, I am a child of God, and I can give myself freely to him knowing that I am secure in his love, mercy and grace. Mum told me that as she went through her MRI scan she felt wrapped in God’s arms. In that moment she knew she was not alone and she was good. For today.

As I took one day at a time last week, each day gave me a gift. From time spent with Dad, to praying with Mum, to the beauty of Christchurch in the spring, to the creative imagination of people as they continue to rebuild after the devastating earthquakes from a few years ago. When we give each day to God we awaken ourselves to his presence with us. We can receive his comfort in hard times and thank him for the good. We can see more clearly even as the future holds uncertain outcomes.

Today we celebrate my daughters 7th birthday. I took her out for a surprise lunch to McDonalds and enjoyed her sense of curiosity, her fun and the joy that she carries with her. For today, life is good. For today, I rest in Gods love and peace. For today, I am a blessed son. For today, I know my Mum’s in good hands. For today, I let go and let God. For today.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.                                 Matthew 6:33-34

This entry was posted in faith, God, trust and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

