The Fruit of Exploring

Hi everyone. Rob here.

Recently David (pictured) and I have been reminiscing on our epic trip through the USA that we did a year ago and getting in touch with our longing to do it again. One of the reasons that the trip fed my heart was because I love exploring. God gave me the name ‘explorer’ many years ago and it connects with me at many different levels. P1000043

First of all I love physical exploration. Travelling down a road I’ve never been down before is thrilling to me. In the States every road was new, every landscape was new and every wrong turn felt like a dramatic twist in the story. Physical exploration helps me to trust God in the immediate. I need his help to read the map well, be alert to signs, know when to refuel and so on.

I also love intellectual exploration. I’m doing a thesis at the moment and while I’m struggling with the writing I have loved the research. The research led me to explore the 9/11 Memorials in the States and reflect on their significance. I have explored American history, in particular its theological history, and made discoveries that have overturned old thinking. I love that! I love going deeper into God’s world and asking him for his mind as I do so. The intellectual can feed the spiritual when you know that it’s all Gods.

Finally I love exploring the spiritual life; that is the life of the heart. This blog is a forum for that as is my work as pastor. I want to go deeper into the life of God and help others to do the same. I want to discover what holds me back and die to those obstacles. I want to come alive to God, be free in God and live in God’s strength even as I am filled with his love.

These categories overlap and intermingle. They happen at the same time but with different emphases. The fruit of exploration comes when I discover and share. If I only explore for my own benefit then it is fruitless. The joy of exploring is when you can say to others, ‘Come and See!’ Whether its persuading people to go to The Grand Canyon, read a certain book or engage with an idea, or go deeper into the life of God, the fruit of my exploring heart is when I discover more life and share the discoveries with others. They may have been there before, they may not like what I’ve discovered or see it in a different way but that’s part of the process. My job is to listen to my heart and explore. It is to be led by the Spirit of God into discovering what he wants me to discover. It is to be vulnerable and courageous and share what God has shown me.

I’ve shared all this because I want everyone to discover what God has placed in their hearts and to live accordingly. So what has God placed in your heart? How does he see you? What name does he have for you? Ask him to show you. It may be Mother or Welcomer or Just One or Brave Warrior or… Ask God to fill that blank. Take time. Be still. It may take a few goes as your heart settles into the question. It will fit when you hear it.

Then go live it in the name of Jesus and by the power of his Spirit.

Grace and peace be yours.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Fruit of Exploring

  1. Kiley Gray says:

    Hi Rob, When you told me about what you wrote it sounded interesting but when I read your blog this week I was motivated to actually take your advice and sit a while with God and ask him what his word is for me? How does he see me? What has he placed in my heart? Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

