The Best of You

Hi everyone. Rob here.

When are you at your best? Do you ever stop and ask yourself that question? It’s a common question when applied to other areas of life. For example a gardener is always trying to create optimal growing conditions for the particular crop that they’re trying to joy-233380_640grow. They do whatever it takes to help their crop to thrive. The same goes for sports coaches and managers. They try and create an environment that helps their players to perform at their best. They want their players to be fit, healthy, relaxed and confident, able to execute their skills at any given moment. So, think for a moment; what does it take for you to be at your best?

My wife, Kiley, is reviewing her work situation at the moment because she hasn’t been at her best. She’s discovered that she needs an hour or two less per day and one less day a week. She will now work to make that happen. We all need to do these kind of reviews. If we want a wholehearted life then it pays to know the conditions in which our hearts thrive.

I have three enemies that I seek to remove from my life; busyness, idleness and monotony. Busyness can’t be avoided at times. there will be seasons where I’m stretched and that is good. It forces me to press into God and discover more of what I’m capable of. Too much of it though, and I lose my effectiveness. My best work comes when I feel anchored in Christ, secure in his love, surrendered to his will and worshipful in my heart. This means I need times of regular silence, solitude and prayer. Too much busyness serves to deplete my resources because it takes away those times where God renews me. Idleness, on the other hand, is when I’m choosing relief over restoration. Too much TV, internet surfing or time wasting, leads me into procrastination and passivity. I stop offering my gifts and strength to my church, my community and my family. Monotony leads me into deep ruts. It normally means that I’m trying to do life without God. I’m avoiding challenge and change. Monotony often leads to me feeling down and deeply restless. I need regular times where I’m doing something new and fresh. What about you? Can you name your enemies that threaten your wholeheartedness?

What then are my friends? I’ve already alluded to a few: Solitude and reflection, pro-activity and fresh challenges. Years ago I asked God how he saw my heart. The answer I got was that I was simultaneously a library and an explorer. That may seem contradictory but it’s not. God sees me as a resource for others – the library part – and I gain resources by exploring. It’s beautiful because I’ve always loved to read and learn but I also love to explore new places, new ideas and go further and deeper into life. If I’m not learning and I’m not exploring then I’m neglecting my heart. Does God have a picture for you? Ask him. “Father, what does my heart look like to you?” It really helps. Since discovering that, I have nearly finished my Masters, taken 4 overseas trips and discovered a life of the heart that I love sharing with you! Let God reveal your heart to you. Resist in Christ’s name the enemy that would seek to destroy it. Nurture the soil that enables your heart to grow. Invite God to show you what it takes for you to be at your best and pursue it with the Spirit’s help.

God wants us to thrive, to be healthy and fruitful for his sake. May you experience his life flowing in and through you this week. Blessings.

This entry was posted in Christ, faith, heart, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Best of You

  1. Kiley Gray says:

    Beautiful I loved reading this blog. Thanks

Leave a Reply

