Take a Stand

Kia ora (Greetings), David here.

Tūrangawaewae (pronounced too-rung-are-why-why) is a well-known and foundational Māori concept. Literally tūranga (standing place), waewae (feet), is often translated as ‘a place to stand’. Tūrangawaewae are places where we feel especially empowered and connected. They are our foundation, our place in the world, our home.

As a Pakeha (a New Zealander of European descent) I often admire how Maori are so connected to their turangawaewae and to their ancestors. As for me, I trace my roots back to England and Scotland and to be honest I haven’t done a lot of research about where I’ve come from.

What strikes me about the concept of turangawaewae is the unwavering belief of empowerment and connection. There is a beautiful Maori proverb that captures this:

Māku e ringiringi ki aku roimata nga ara e ahu ana ki te kāinga (I will water with my tears the trails that lead to home.)

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about where I stand with what I believe. As a Christian I believe that I am part of God’s Kingdom and that’s where I stand and what I most strongly identify with.

dawn_on_mountain_top

Here at Brand New Heart Ministries we’ve spent some time putting some words together to describe our turangawaewae , what we believe, our creed, and our place to stand. These are my words that lead us home now and into eternity. Maybe you can identify with some of these words too. Here’s a link to what we believe and connect with.

Perhaps you’d like to share your place to stand as a comment on this post. We’d like to hear your thoughts.

May you this week, my brothers and sisters, recall what you connect to and with. May you reflect on what you believe and where you stand. May you sepend some time in this place this week and let it centre you and know that in all the change and business of life, you can always come back to this place, your place, your turangawaewae.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

