When Our Heart is Needy

Hi everyone, Rob here.

Philippians 4:6 in the New Living Translations says this:

Don’t worry about anything; instead pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.

I am trying to train my children to ask for what they need. I want to move them away from sorrow-699608_640snatching, tantrums, whining and so on. I’m trying to show them that when they use their words and ask for what they need their parents can take better care of them. It also slows them down so they can work out what they need. Often their reactions come out of deficit. They know what they don’t want!

This is why prayer is so important. Taking the time to come before our Father and tell him what we need moves us away from our own tantrums, whining and foot-stomping. It’s like the Father is giving us a reminder that he’s on our side. He’s for us just as I am for my children. Twice in the last week I’ve had the experience of feeling frustrated and annoyed and not really knowing why. Both times I’ve taken myself off for a walk and talk with my Father. Both times I’ve been able to discover what was on my heart, tell Father what I discovered (or he unveiled) and discover peace. I start with thankfulness, unveil my frustration and trust that he’s on my side and will see me through.

It’s really easy to indulge anger and frustration. It’s easy to lash out at loved ones even though they’re on your side too. It’s easy to be cynical, bitter and resentful. It’s easy to forget God and indulge yourself in a pity party. There’s another way that invites us into gratitude, trust and peace.

Don’t worry about anything; instead pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.

I was late in bringing my issues to God. I had already started down a path of cynicism and resentment. I had used words poorly and the scary thing was that I didn’t know I was doing it until I received a reaction in return! I had let busyness, tiredness and subsequent distraction create distance from what God had placed in my heart. I needed to get back to that space. I needed to come alive to the Spirit of God in me, the life of Christ in me and the desires that God had placed in me. So I left my desk and told God what I needed. I needed him. He’s giving me a message to trust him. My heart is in good hands when I give it to him.

A simple poem arose as I reflected.

Will I let go of worry?

Will I let go of pain?

Will I let God have everything?

Will I let loss become gain?

 

Will I let myself become cynical?

Will I let my words start to kill?

Will I pray about everything?

Will I let my heart become still?

 

I will say yes to the Spirit.

I will let dreams and desires rise.

I will say yes to the Father.

I will walk at Jesus’ side.

 

I will let my heart move towards him.

I will let confession arise.

I will ask for mercy and freedom.

I will let peace reign inside.

Blessings.

This entry was posted in faith, God, prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

