Who Am I?

Hi there, David here

Earlier this week Rob wrote a great poem on identity.  The question is who defines our identity.  Is it what we do, where we work, who likes us?  Or do we let the one who made us define us?

Our biggest struggle in the life of the heart is learning to see ourselves as God sees us. It’s also remembering that we are because He is. He is the source of life and light and he loves us.

Some questions for you to ponder:

1. Who or what defines you?
2. Who does God say you are?
3. How can we see ourselves as God sees us?
4. What do you need to do reframe your view?
5. How would God describe you to someone else?  What words would He use?

Click here for some more verses about identity

May you this week, reframe your view of who you really are, not how you see yourself, but how God sees you.  May you believe that you are a son or daughter of the King, and may you start living like one.  This is who you are and your royal identity. It’s the truth. Your heart and soul belong to God, and it is in His strength that you find your identity.

Who am I?

Can I conceal myself for evermore?
Pretend I’m not the man I was before?
And must my name until I die
Be no more than an alibi?
Must I lie?

How can I ever face my fellow men?
How can I ever face myself again?
My soul belongs to God, I know
I made that bargain long ago
He gave me hope, when hope was gone
He gave me strength to journey on!

– Jean Valjean, Who Am I, Les Miserables

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

