Your Creative Heart

Hi, Rob here. In the wake of our disappointment about the postponement of the Wild at Heart Boot Camp (which I wrote about here) I felt the need to express my thoughts, feelings and hopes in a different way. I wrote a poem which captured my heart more than ordinary prose could. Poetry is quite new for me. I’ve dabbled with it in the past but have felt the need to be more intentional about it lately. I’ve been convicted about creativity.

I’m a prose kind of guy. I write my sermons out in full simply because I process my thoughts while I write. I actually enjoy writing essays – mostly. I used to journal avidly as I found it the best way to get in touch with my thoughts and feelings, especially when life was hard. But lately I’ve found that prose hasn’t done justice to my heart. It represented safety and comfort when my heart is actually being stretched and waking up to new possibilities. I sensed an invitation from God to pursue intentional creativity. 003

So poems came out. I also turned one of them into an art piece by painting up an old piece of fibre cement that I found under the deck, making some paper stencils and painting in them. The kids got involved and the act of creativity led to community. I have plans for transferring photos to old bits of wood to try and make beauty out of ashes. It feels good!

We are creative people because we are made in the image of the God who creates. No one is more imaginative, evocative or wondrous than God. He puts the song in our hearts the creativity in our DNA. From the builder to the poet to the painter to the gardener, we all have a creative part of us that’s crying out for full expression. the only thing that holds us back is fear – of ridicule, of failure, of disappointment. But I’ve discovered that creativity isn’t about anyone else. It’s between your heart and God. If others like it and are blessed by it, great. If not, it doesn’t matter because it’s not about anyone else.

So go for it. Give a poem a try. A drawing. Photography. Cook something amazing! Make your own recipe or art feature. Landscape your garden or do a cross-stitch. So, in the words of Madonna – Express Yourself! Just do it. Your heart needs it.

Here’s my poem. It speaks into disappointment, grief, things being stolen, the mystery of life, hope and faith. It speaks of an enemy to be defeated and a kingdom to come. It came out of a deep place in my heart and I’m grateful to God for calling me into intentional creativity at a time when I needed it.

Life will throw us curveballs.

Surprises, disappointments and grief.

They will assault our certainty.

They will challenge our peace.

 

Is our house built on rock,

Or is it built on sand?

Will the wind blow us down,

Or will we take our stand?

 

Is Jesus still our redeemer,

When we’ve been assailed by the thief?

Do we still hang onto hope?

What is our belief?

 

So here to me is our calling

When the enemy steals our plans.

We cling more tightly to Jesus

We give ourselves into his hands.

 

His ways aren’t simple or clichéd

He makes sure that we have to trust.

But we bow the knee to the King

And give our hearts we must.

 

The enemy is angry

And lives without hope are his friend.

But I will give him nothing

And look forward to his end.

 

I believe Jesus is on our side,

And he’s the one who conquered death.

So I give myself to a kingdom coming,

Greater than my plans, my life, my breath.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

