Guard Your Heart

Hi, Rob here. A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post called Doubly Blessed. It was in response to David and I getting into the Wild at Heart Boot Camp in Colorado in August. Today we found out that they have had to postpone until November. Delaying our U.S.A heart-268151_640adventure until then isn’t an option so there’ll be no Boot Camp for us this time. I’m gutted, disappointed, a bit annoyed and philosophical all at the same time. When things like this happen we have to be very careful about where our heart goes. After all we had planned our trip for this time because of the Boot Camp. It had seemed like God had gone ahead of us in this so what do we think now?

The first thing is make no agreements with the enemy. That is, I will not say yes to anger, bitterness or cynicism. I acknowledge that it is annoying and disruptive. It feels like a loss and losses need to be grieved but I want to grieve with God and not against God. I want to be honest about my feelings but I don’t want my feelings to have the last word. If I want God to speak into this I need to make no agreements with the things that will hinder my hearing of his voice. That’s where the devil can have a field day. He wants to bring in accusation against the organisers because he’s the accuser. He wants to twist reality so that I’m blaming someone because he’s the father of lies. He wants especially for our trust in God’s goodness to be diminished because he’s the enemy of God.

So the second thing is to say yes to Jesus. It’s to acknowledge that this is out of our control but Jesus is still with us. He’s still our Lord, brother, friend and King. He still has a great trip planned for us! He redeems what was lost. Great possibilities lie ahead if we choose to walk with our King into them. So we lay down any anxiety, striving and control and open our hearts to Jesus.

Note that by making no agreements we are closing off our heart to enemy attacks and by saying yes to Jesus we are opening our heart the Holy Spirit. Too often we get this the wrong way round! I know I have at times. This is why there is so much cynicism and bitterness out there and, at times, in us. We’ve closed ourselves off to God in the face of disappointment and opened our hearts to the enemy by trying to manage our disappointment our own way. How much better it is to trust in God’s goodness, in the redeeming power of Christ and the peace of the Holy Spirit.

Proverbs 4:23 says, “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” This simply means be careful about what you let in. Only let in the things that you want to see come out. If we don’t want cynicism to come out then we don’t let cynicism get in. If we want trust and peace to come it then that’s what he have to open our hearts to. John Eldredge often says that the enemy is out to steal our joy. For David and I this is the most exciting trip we have ever done. One aspect of it has been thwarted for whatever reason. Many aspects remain and I choose to trust God that what was lost will be redeemed. By making this choice, and I’ll have to make it several times, I know that my heart will be well and life will flow from it. God still goes ahead of us and we are still doubly blessed.

Shalom.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guard Your Heart

  1. Kiley Gray says:

    Thanks hun. Wow you kinda said that when we were talking but you said it really clearly and helpfully here. I’m wrestling with these same things in a different situation.. I want to get grumpy about how a friend is processing a situation out of our control and I want to react with resentment and criticism. I knew this would be poison but didn’t understand why or what to do instead. Say no to the enemy and Yes to God and trust that he is good and is faithful despite the disappointment. Thanks Kiley

Leave a Reply

