Absolute Power

Greetings, David here.

In most traditions, the word Spirit means breath or wind. Our word for Spirit is derived from the Latin – Spiritus, which means breath. For the Greeks, the word Spirit is known as Pneuma, a term which also means breath. The Hebrew word Ruah is synonymous with wind. The Hebrew name for Lord is Yahweh which is derived from the root Hebrew word HWY, which also means wind or breath.

The consistency in these different terms in not coincidental. To know the Spirit is to know the breath of God. This breath of God is written about in the New Testament which describes the descent of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost:

When the day of Pentecost arrived, they were all together in one place. And suddenly there came from heaven a sound like a mighty rushing wind, and it filled the entire house where they were sitting. ~ Acts 2:1-2

The Holy Spirit has often been described as a powerful wind. A wind that transforms us, overwhelms us, takes our breath away, yet at the same time gives us our breath.

The power touches me The power helps us see The power holds my hand The power drives me crazy And it won’t take long to understand Just how amazed I am ~ Amy Grant

This week, may you come to know afresh the power of the Holy Spirit, the wind that fills your sails and moves you to new horizons. May you be filled with the breath of God and know that He is so close to you, closer than your own breath. May you know this power in your life today.

The Power

You caught my breath
image My life to win
You took my breath
As I pressed in

You fanned the flame
Blew me apart
Like a hurricane
Within my heart

You overwhelm me
My Strong Tower
I am surrounded
Within your power

Breath in me
Fan the fire
Relentless love
Power of my power

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

