Follow Me

Hi, David here.

A few years back I entered the world of Twitter. As I’m sure you all know it is a world where you ‘follow’ other people and are yourselves ‘followed’. Twitter was launched in July 2006. It now has over 500 million active users. I’m not an avid follower but I do use it as a push marketing tool for this blog. I must go have a look at my account some time.

Justin Bieber now has over 36 million followers worldwide. Many other celebrities also have huge followings. People follow their lives, words, and lifestyle. They want to know all about them, they want to interact with them and they want to be like them. They imitate them. There is nothing inherently wrong with this. It is natural to want to follow those we admire. Following celebrities on Twitter can be fun or even enlightening.

However, following people on Twitter is one thing; being a true follower of someone is quite another. It means imitating their lives and doing what they tell us to do. We need to choose the right people to follow. Unlike with Twitter, it really does matter whom we follow. Millions, for example, followed Hitler, Stalin and Pol Pot. Still today, millions follow evil dictators, terrorists and gang leaders.

Some people are sceptical about tradition and institutions and do not know who to follow. The traditional models, which often came from or were championed by our families, institutions and political leaders, have to some extent broken down. This leaves many people unsure of whom to follow.

Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.
~ Luke 9:23

Jesus said many times, ‘Follow me’. Of all the people who have ever lived, Jesus has the largest number of followers. Over 2,300 million people in the world today profess to follow Jesus. Jesus’ followers want to know him and to be like him.

This week may you know the one who calls you to follow. May you walk in His steps, as He leads you into all your tomorrows. May the one who you follow lead you and guide you through your valley of life. May you choose to follow, and lead others. May your heart guide you.

Will You Follow

Where I go, will you followimage
For today
And your tomorrows

Where I go, will you come
Learn from me
And my Son

Where I go, you will see
Another world
And be like me

Where I go, will you follow
For today
And your tomorrows

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

