Choose your Posture

Hi everyone. Rob here. I hope and trust that you had a good Easter, reflecting on the kneeling-prayerwonder of Christ’s death and resurrection, as well as taking a break from everyday routines. Of course the story doesn’t end on Easter Sunday. Jesus is very active in his resurrection appearances and there are the vitally important events of his Ascension and Pentecost to come. I was speaking at an Easter Camp this year and one of the questions we posed to the youth was this: “When you get back to your normal everyday life, what choices do you need to make to help you put Christ first in your life?” Today, I’m asking the same thing of myself and of you. What choices do we need to make to help us put Christ first in our life? The events of Easter show us that Jesus is alive; Jesus is active and Jesus is after our hearts, so what choices will we make in response to that?

I offered the campers 3 postures that they need to adopt in order to develop their new hearts in Christ. Posture 1 was worship – I love you Jesus. Posture 2 was thankfulness – Thank you Jesus. Posture 3 was surrender – I need you Jesus. As I sit at my computer today feeling weary after the camp, nursing a sore back after pretending to be a teenager and contemplating assignments and a men’s retreat to prepare for, I realise that I need to make the choice to worship. I’m feeling thankful that Jesus used me for his purposes and I’m definitely in touch with my need for Jesus to be my strength right now, but I haven’t offered my heart in total adoration to my Saviour. In a moment I will go and take the time to worship my Lord, but first of all I wonder: what posture do you need to adopt today? Is it all three or is one in particular standing out? Take the time now to make the simple statements your prayer for today.

I love you Jesus.

Thank you Jesus.

I need you Jesus.

Let those prayers soak into your heart. Remember, Easter is not over. Jesus Christ is alive, he is active and he is after your heart. Offer up your heart in response.

Blessings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

