Resources of the Heart

Hi everyone. Rob here.  Last week I was up in Auckland pursuing some further study. It’s a Masters level course and for a fair while I felt quite out of my depth. It had been a few years and I really started to doubt why I was there. Then I was given a gift.

British Library - London

British Library – London

A few years ago I was doing a course on prayer. One of the things we were asked to do was ask God for a picture of our heart; how does he see it. I was shown a picture of a library, bathed in light. It was God telling me that when I’m filled with his Spirit and his life I am to be a resource for others. It was shown me quite clearly at the time but as we all know, our ability to forget even the most beautiful of divine moments, is all too easily forgotten. But then I was back in a classroom for the first time in an age and God reminded me. The lecturer did a devotion sharing from 1 Corinthians 4, where Paul writes this about leaders: “We are servants of Christ, not his masters. We are guides into God’s most sublime secrets, not security guards posted to protect them.” Now I’m not claiming all of that for myself! What Paul was saying is that he, Apollos, Peter and other leaders are resources for the community in all their variety. Apollos was a scholar, Peter was a fisherman preacher and Paul was a teacher/evangelist. They were to be seen as resources given by God for the spiritual health of the Corinthian church. Our lecturer was telling us that the work we were doing as student scholars was helping us to become a resource for the Church in the name of Jesus. Even as my brain was struggling it was just what my heart needed.

Sometimes we don’t know why we’re doing what we are doing. What has God called us to? If this is from God why is it so hard? At times like that we need to ask God for a clear picture of our heart. How does he see us? What is the vital role that he has called us to in his kingdom? The other reminder I got at my course was that even though our contributions may be small, they are still vitally important. God values our kingdom contributions. He wants us to offer our viewpoints, our passions, our hearts and minds to his world in his name.

I know that there are better speakers, writers and scholars out there than me! But I’ve still been asked to share my heart and mind with others in the name of Jesus for the sake of his kingdom, because God values what I have to offer and he will use my small offering for his glory. He will use yours too. So don’t hide your light under a bushel. Let the world feel the weight of you are in Christ as John Eldredge writes and share your heart and mind. You will be a great resource to the kingdom as you do so.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

