At First Light

Hi, David here.

Plato’s Cave, is an allegory used by the Greek philosopher Plato in his book The Republic.  This is one of Plato’s  most well-known works. It is the story of the human heart.

Plato describes man’s condition as being chained in a cave, with only a fire behind him.  He perceives the world by watching the shadows on the wall.  He sits in darkness with the false light of the fire and does not realize that this existence is wrong or lacking.  It merely is his existence — he knows no other nor offers any complaint.

Plato plays with the notion of what would occur if people suddenly encountered the divine light of the sun, and perceived “true” reality. In other words, what would happen if people actually embraced the light and realised that shadows are darkness  caused by light.

Next Plato imagines what would occur in the cave  if the chained man were suddenly released from his bondage and let out into the world.  Plato describes how some people would immediately be frightened and want to return to the cave and the familiar dark existence. Others would look at the sun and finally see the world as it truly is. Any of this sound familiar?

I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life. ~ Jesus of Nazareth

Perhaps Plato was on to something here.  What is the reality we are living in?  Are we living our existence in a cave chasing shadows and accepting this as our reality, or should we turn around to see where the light is coming from and perhaps even venture outside the cave and experience the first light that made both me and you. What are your thoughts on this?

First Light

As I walk in this cave
The shadows dance on the wall
From Your light behind me
They grow narrow and tall

I stumble in this cave
Through the cobwebs I see
A shadow of my life
Far from Your reality

You reach for my hand
And with You I turn
To face Your pure radiance
I have so much to unlearn

You turn my world upside down
And my thoughts inside out
Let us walk out by faith
Through my shadows of doubt

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

