Best Friend – Part 2

Tim’s story continues…

Part Two: Friendship

Over the past couple of years, I have had a strong sense of the Holy Spirit’s prompting and nudging to get outside, up high, and spend time in the outdoors enjoying creation and through this, being led to enjoy God Himself.  He will often wake me in the morning and I Timshave begun to recognise the gentle tug to get up and get outside and I have to say that this is where a major battle happens for me between the Spirit who is calling my spirit to get up and come outside and the flesh, the ‘old man’; who wants to stay in bed and catch a bit more sleep.  The enemy won’t just use tiredness to keep me from responding to God, He will also resort to leaving me physically drained or sick in some other way and I simply just don’t feel up to getting outside.

There is a good reason for this battle as this is the time when we can really connect with God, to feel His embrace, His strong ‘arms’ around us, uplifting us, giving us hope and belief.  I have been reading ‘The Pursuit of God’ by A.W.Tozer recently and he describes this inner craving and need for intimacy with God in the following way:

God formed us for His pleasure, and so formed us that we, as well as He, can, in divine communion, enjoy the sweet and mysterious mingling of kindred personalities.  He meant us to see Him and live with Him and draw our life from His smile.’

When I have responded to the Father’s calling, quite often I have come to the conclusion that He does it for no other reason than to show me something spectacular.

As I stand on top of Te Mata Peak and there will be an early morning mist snaking along the valley below, hovering just above the Tuki Tims2Tuki river,

or looking out across the Heretuanga Plains toward the RuahineRanges, Tims3I might catch a glimpse of the snow-capped peak of Mount Ruapehu,

Tims4

or as I look out across the ocean, it could be the sun just creeping up over the horizon and bringing spectacular light and life to the new day.  What can I say in response to such extravagance except ‘WOW!’, ‘What an awesome, beautiful, majestic, creative and powerful God you are.’

I love this track by Third Day as it really sums up just how spectacular creation is and how God can capture our hearts.

 Third Day – Show Me Your Glory

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

