Open Window

Hello, David here.  Happy New Year to you!

Last year I stumbled upon the great book, Anam Cara, by John O’DonohueAnam Cara is Gaelic for soul friend.  His book includes ancient teachings, stories, and blessings of celtic Christianity.  The contents provide profound insights on the universal themes of friendship, solitude, love, and death. In Anam Cara,  John O’Donohue, poet, philosopher, and scholar, guides you through the spiritual landscape of the Irish imagination. His book begins with this quote:

It is strange to be here. The mystery never leaves you alone. Behind your image, below your words, above your thoughts, the silence of another world exists. A world lives within you. No one else can bring you news of this inner world.

A lot of O’Donohue’s writings and indeed Celtic Christianity focuses on the describing the deeper aspects of the soul and the heart.  This is a brave new world, and venturing into it challenges us to think in a different way.  While some may write this off as New Age thinking, there is  element of his work that may just go to describing the concept how eternity is placed in our heart by God.

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet  no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. ~Ecclesiastes 3:10-12

A lot of Celtic Christianity focuses on perspective, frames of vision and looking through the ‘windows of the soul’.  It’s an interesting place to dwell, reflect and meditate in.  It’s about being still and knowing God.

So what about you my friend?  Have you considered your point of reference that you use to frame your faith and belief?  What would in mean to look out a different window and broaden your horizon? Maybe this is where understanding begins and blinkered thinking ends. Here or somewhere this week will you share your story. It may just help someone open the window of their soul and experience eternity.

Open Window

If my mind is a tower of windows
That reaches toward the sky,
Why do I sit at the same one
And hope to wonder why.

If I stare out the same window,
And view the same scene each day,
Will it grow and shape my world,
Or will is set me in my ways?

Shall I step back and turn around
And find a different view,
Another window for my soul
To glance at vistas new.

Through different windows of my soul
I am no longer blind,
Complacency, habit and regret,
I leave them far behind.

So much hangs on my frame of vision
To build Your world, my view,
And with fresh eyes I see Your plan
Your way, Your life, Your truth.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

