Language of the Heart

Hi everyone, Rob here. I’m sitting here with Matt Redman’s beautiful song, 10000 Reasons, going through my head:  [Chorus]

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I’ll worship Your holy name

It makes me realise that the heart cannot live on prose alone! For our hearts to have expression there must be poetry and song in our lives. That’s why a big part of this blogsite is David’s poetry. That’s why a big part of Scripture is poetry and song. It’s why we turn to the Psalms when we need to worship more extravagantly or lament more deeply. It’s why Paul breaks into song at the end of Romans 11 as he reflects on the greatness of God.

One of the constant refrains of the Psalms is “Sing to the Lord a new song.” It’s the song that comes from our new hearts when we realise that we are his and he is ours; when we are dead to our sin and alive to God; when we are led by the Spirit and cry, ‘Abba, Father.’ This is why worship is so central to our lives. Worship is the expression of our new hearts towards God and unless we find that expression it is a struggle to come alive to our new hearts. So we sing, we create works of art, we write poetry, we build something, we write sermons (something for the pastors!), we raise our hands or bow the knee, we blog, we design things and so on in the name of Jesus and with the Spirit of Jesus.

Part of coming alive to our new heart is coming alive to our creative expression. I don’t share David’s gift for poetry but poems have come to me as I’ve meditated on God’s Word; and creative dialogues and even pictures. But most of the time I create sermons in my mind as God’s word resonates in my heart. What comes into your mind as your heart comes alive to God? Please share with us. So today I encourage you that if you’re feeling flat or dead in your heart, don’t just read the word or say a few words of prayer. Take the time to reflect deeply and then create something. It will do wonders for your soul as you discover the language of your heart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Language of the Heart

Leave a Reply

