Holy Ground

Hi, David here.

Something stirred uncomfortably within my soul as I sat and listened to a speaker at church a few Sundays ago.  What was it I found confronting?  Why was I squirming in my seat?  Every Thursday morning I meet with a few close friends for coffee before work.  We all go to the same church. In between our flat whites we share stories, talk about life and about God.  Last week I felt the same feeling again .  One of the guys was sharing a story about healing, and how God chooses to heal because it’s about the healing, and more importantly, about the Healer.  As I listened to this story I once again felt this uneasiness – this uncertainly. I searched my feelings – what was similar, what was different?

Early in the morning, on the very next day I was walking down the hill to the train station.  I usually take this time to pray as it’s quiet, I have few distractions, and it’s downhill – which somehow is important!  Try praying when you walk up a hill – it’s really difficult.  Half way through my usual  prayer time I felt it again.  “What is this Lord?”  It felt a bit like guilt, it felt like I had misplaced something, it felt like I had failed to make a connection, an important connection.  It felt just the same as the other two occasions. 

Along with the slowly creeping sunrise it slowly dawned on me what it was. 

It was holiness. 

Holy, holy, holy!  Though the darkness hide thee,
though the eye of sinful man thy glory may not see,
only thou art holy; there is none beside thee,
perfect in power, in love and purity.
~ Reginald Heber

This is what I had felt – that strangely familiar yet uncomfortable feeling of approaching a Holy God, through worship, through conversations with friends, and through prayer.  For many years I had mistaken this with guilt. 

Along with a lot of things I have recently realised, I am not the centre of my own universe, it is not about me, it never was, and it’s all about God.  This revelation has taken me some time to realise. What it has done though has taken me much deeper into God – just another aspect of God’s character to experience. It’s a great place to be.

Our God is a Holy God – it should make us uncomfortable, it should challenge us, and sometimes it should shake our world, and shake our concept of self.  The good news is we can approach our Holy God, by the blood of Jesus.  He made this possible.  We do not need to be afraid, God can be our friend, our brother, and our comforter.  Through Jesus we can have a personal relationship with God, however we need to know that God is Holy. We stand on Holy ground each time we connect with God – we need to acknowledge this and take off our shoes of indifference.

Holy, holy, holy!  Lord God Almighty!
Early in the morning our song shall rise to thee.
Holy, holy, holy!  Merciful and mighty,
God in three persons, blessed Trinity!
~ Reginald Heber

So what about you my friend?  Have you experienced this holiness and mistaken it for something else?  What do you need to do differently?  What does a Holy God mean to you and how will this enhance your relationship with God?  Here, or somewhere this week, share your story.  It may help someone go deeper with God.

Holy Ground

Take me to the Holy Temple
With those who seek you face
Take me in your cloud of glory
In God’s speed and not my haste

For Holy are you Lord
And Worthy is your name
As I seek your face
I’ll never be the same

Take my past the outer courts
Into your Holy place
Past the burning altar
Lord I long to seek your face

For Holy are you Lord
And Worthy is your name
As I seek your face
I’ll never be the same

Take me into the Holy of Holies
I enter by the blood of the Lamb
Take me into your Holy of Holies
Cleanse my soul, heal my heart
Here I am

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holy Ground

  1. Kiley Gray says:

    Hi David,
    Kiley here. Thanks for your thoughts and comments. I found them thought provoking. I’ve never thought about guilt possibly being discomfort because we are approaching such a Holy God. I really noticed the close relationship you have with God as you mulled this uncomfortable feeling over. It almost felt uncomfortable having the opportunity to see the intimacy between you and God so private and personal and close your relationship with the Lord is. Thank you for sharing it. As we hunt for a suitable house and I frequently find myself fearing we will never find what we are looking for or close to it for the price we can afford, that it then starts to feel like God has abandoned us. Which as you can imagine intensifies the fear. God tonight has encouraged me with reading your blog about the thought of “Holy Ground”. Just that phrase helped me get in touch with my heart that God is very much involved with the changes. It is in obedience to his call to move closer to our church that we have initiated selling our house. I felt drawn to pray about the patch of Silverdale that we are currently trying to buy and the notion of it being set aside for his plans and purposes, in essence “Holy Ground”. It may be that this patch of silverdale is it or it may be that we have to go back to the drawing board and continue the search but either way God is using people, places and things to teach me about himself and encourage me in this journey. Thanks for being part of that.

    Blessings
    kiley

Leave a Reply

