70 x 7

Hi, David here.  It occurred to me the other day that I had been harbouring some unforgiveness for some time, in fact a long time, actually for over 20 years. I recall an incident with a friend of mine almost three decades ago that ended our friendship abruptly. I’m not sure who was at fault or who was to blame. It was probably me – I started it. I’ve noticed over the years how this unforgiveness, this unwillingness to let go has shaped my thinking about friendships. It’s faulty thinking. Like a short-circuit. Through a series of recent events I now recognize this for what it is. I recognize that I need to forgive, let go, and move on. It’s a gift I need to give to them and myself.

Forgiveness is a gift you give yourself
~Suzanne Somers

Forgiveness is no small thing. It is a brave thing to do. It requires courage, facing fears, feeling the flawed thinking and reaching out. Reaching out to forgive and to ask for forgiveness. With forgiveness comes healing, insight and understanding. This is what I hope and what I’m looking forward to.

Forgiveness is the economy of the heart… forgiveness saves the expense of anger, the cost of hatred, the waste of spirits. ~ Hannah More

This story may be mine. You may see yourself or a friend in this story. We are all faulty, flawed and forgiven because Jesus paid the price on the cross. You can do the maths as well as me: 1 Cross + 3 Nails = 4 Given.  So what about you? Do you need to forgive, do you need to let go and move on? Here or somewhere this week be real – it may just help someone break free from their faulty and flawed thinking. Will you?

Forgiven

Forgive me
I never knew
How much our friendship
Meant to you

I never knew
How much your thought
For many years
The cost I bought

How much our friendship
Meant to me
More than you know
But now I see

Meant for you
This I know
Will your forgive
How much I owe

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

