Glory Days

Hi David here. Once upon a time in a land far away . . .

“Have you no daughters?” “No,” said the man. “There is a little stunted kitchen wench which my late wife left behind her, but she cannot be the bride.” The King’s son said he was to send her up to him; but the step-mother answered, “Oh no, she is much too dirty, she cannot show herself!”  But he absolutely insisted on it and Cinderella had to be called. She first washed her hands and face clean, and then went and bowed down before the King’s son, who gave her the golden slipper.  Then she seated herself on a stool, drew her dainty foot out of the heavy wooden shoe, and put it into the slipper, which fitted like a glove.  And when she rose up the King’s son looked at her face, he recognised the beautiful maiden who had danced with him and cried, “This is the true bride!”  The step-mother and the two sisters were horrified and became pale with rage; he, however took Cinderella on his horse and rode away with her into the setting sun.

What a great story!  To see the heroine unveiled in all her glory.  To see her lifted up to her full height.  Once mocked, spat upon and forced to work as a slave.  Now a bride of a prince and one day a bride of a King.  Cinderella – a true, beautiful and glorious bride.

I was sitting in church the other day listening to our Pastor talk about the bride of Christ.  As a man, I find it difficult to relate to being a bride of Christ.  Our Pastor made an interesting comparison.  He was also talking about sonship – being an heir of the Father.  He suggested that if women find it hard relating to being a son of God, think about how difficult it is for a man to be a bride of Christ!  It helps to think about the bride of Christ as the church (a collection of men and women).

Here are a couple of thoughts on this glorious bride of Christ which we can all relate to:

  • We are the ransomed church, we are the bride of the King’s Son. “Come, I will show you the bride, the wife of the Lamb” (Revelation 21:9)
  • We are the object of His love.  “You have stolen my heart with one glance of your eyes” (Song 4:9)

So maybe, just maybe the fairly tale of Cinderella is true!  The King’s Son insisted that she come out of her hiding.  “Come out you are mine now. Let your glorious beautiful light shine”.

So what about you my friend?  Are you in a Cinderella moment?  Have you been hiding?  It’s unnerving considering coming out of hiding.  This is what Jesus calls us to do and to be – his glorious bride.  Is it time to act your age and not your shoe size?  Here or somewhere this week share your story – it may just help a Cinderella discover his or her glory.

Glory Days

Show me your glory
I need to break through
Break my afflictions
Lead me closer to you

Show me your glory
As your light shines through
Release my afflictions
Lead me into you

Show me your glory
As this world fades away
Eclipse my afflictions
Through my worship today

Show me your glory
Let your light fill my heart
As your face shines on me
Create in me your art

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glory Days

  1. kathryngraves says:

    David, my personal testimony actually follows the Cinderella fairytale quite closely. I have spoken about it to women’s groups. As a woman, of course I do relate well to being part of the Bride of Christ. Thank you for writing about your perspective. Because the story is true.

Leave a Reply

