Solid as a Rock

 Hi David here. It was pitch black, and silent as I crawled along on my hands and knees. I could smell the rising damp and feel it seeping into my bones as I pulled back the cobwebs to find what I was looking for. As I flicked on my flashlight the crawlspace under our house was illuminated and I spied the rotten floorboard that needed replacing. This particular floorboard had been subject to at least ten winters of relentless northerly rain. The only way to properly get to it was from underneath our house. The crawl space, a space shared by old forgotten toys, a couple of broken guitars and an increasing number of spiders and other creeping things. Not really my favourite place.

Our house is built on two levels and has two different types of foundations. The top level is build directly onto a concrete slab, the second level, the one I was crawling underneath, is on wooden piles and while the foundation is rock solid, it is really only compacted dirt, cobwebs, spiders and other creeping things.

Our house also sits on a hill made of bedrock. Last weekend we had a great autumn storm, lots of driving rain and wind, and hence a perfect time to have a close encounter the spiders under the house. We are quite happy that the foundation of our house is built on rock. It’s weathered 50 winters so far and hasn’t moved an inch so if I have to replace the odd floorboard I can live with that. I still don’t like spiders though.

In the bible in Matthew 7:24 is the parable of the foolish man who built his house on the sand, and the wise man who built his house on the rock. You can probably guess what happened next. The storms came, the rain came, the streams rose and the house built on the sand got swept away. The house built on the foundation of rock still remained and did not move. I’m not sure what happened to the spiders.

Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. ~ Matthew 7:24-25

Getting up close and personal with the foundations of my house got me thinking about what type of faith we build our lives on. What do we really believe in our hearts and hold to in the storms of life? There are parts of my life built on rock, parts on the dirt, and parts probably built on sand or even less. I’ve been replacing a few floorboards of faith lately, ripping out the rotten stuff and nailing back in stronger and more durable material to create a firmer foundation. It’s a good start, but the foundation is more important. Have I built or rebuilt may faith on rock or sand? Will it stand the next storm? What happens when our faith is shaken? Where are the spiders? So many questions.

In Matthew 16:8 Jesus tells Peter that he is the rock that he will build his church on. Peter’s faith was that solid – rock solid. So what about you my friend? What does Jesus want to build with your life, your faith?

Do you need a faith lift? What is the foundation of your faith? Is it time to check? Do you need to do some home improvement? What are you standing on?

Here or somewhere this week, share your thoughts. You may strengthen someone’s faith with just a few words.

Rock Solid

You took me
From the miry clay
You placed me on the rock
That is greater than I

I hear you speak today
So I’m building my faith
Upon the rock
That is greater than I

Be the storm, open the floodgates of heaven
Let it rain, let the streams rise
Let the wind beat against my faith
On the rock is greater than I

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

