For the Rest of Your Life

I’ve been underfed, I’ve been overdrawn, I’m tired of walking this fine line for so long, I’ve been looking for you in all the wrong places. So who will come to the aid of a man like me.  This is one of the verses from Derek Lind’s song A Man Like Me.

Life is busy, there are many things that keep us occupied and distracted. Most of this ‘busyness’ wears us down, and tires us out. We need someone or something to come to our rescue.  Sooner than later we start to long for that wonderful time of year where we can sit on the beach, climb into the hammock, close our eyes and drift away while the sun warms our soul. Paradise.

While this is the experience of many of us, something seems wrong with this picture. Something seems very wrong. Is this really all there is to life – waiting for the next break, the next holiday to relax and rest? Is this what the rest of our life looks like? Is it the best we can hope for?

We have an opportunity to turn all of this upside down. Imagine for a moment what it would be like to find a place of rest and then operate our lives from this place. I’m not talking about sitting on a beach with a laptop. I’m talking about getting away with Jesus, taking a rest, and getting (as my American friends would say) the heck out of Dodge.

Jesus wants us to experience his way, his rhythm of life, his rhythm of grace. From this place we can still achieve all the things we need and want to do. Actually it’s more what Jesus wants us to do and be. It’s a change of attitude and mindset. It’s a change of culture.  Here’s how the band Jesus Culture describes it:

 
Come away with Me, Come away with Me
It’s never too late, it’s not too late
It’s not too late for you
 
I have a plan for you
It’s gonna be wild
It’s gonna be great
It’s gonna be full of Me
~ Come Away by Jesus Culture

How do we do this? How do we come away? – we choose to, we ask Jesus for his rest, and we believe it, in our heart. It’s really that simple.

So what about you? How will you spend the rest of your life? What do you need to stop doing. Will you take up Jesus’ invitation to come away?  Maybe you’re doing this now.  Would you share your experience, here or somewhere. It may help someone find their place of rest, for the rest of their life.

Finally here’s my take from Jesus’ view on rest – his unforced rhythm of grace.

The Rhythm of Grace

Are you tired and weary      
Sick of running this race
Come away with me
Learn the rhythm of grace

Are you weighed down
By the burdens that you face
Come away with me
Learn the rhythm of grace

Are you over religion
Has the salt lost its taste
Come away with me
Learn the rhythm of grace

Do you need real rest
But can’t find it at your place
Come away with me
Learn the rhythm of grace

I can set you life free
Watch me, seek my face
Come walk with me
Learn my rhythm of grace

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For the Rest of Your Life

  1. Adam Munro says:

    Great thoughts. For some reason your passage reminded me of a title to a movie I watched many years ago with Gene Hackman as the star. It was called “Dead Man Walking”. Sometimes I feel as Christians we are like “Dead Men Walking” – with no aim, direction and disconnect from God.

    Just like an innocent man on death row seeking reprieve, we too need to constantly seek reprieve from our sins from God. Let us be “Alive in Christ Walking”.

Leave a Reply

