Our Beautiful Battle

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness.  This is the first line in Charles Dickens’ A Tale of Two Cities.  It is probably one of the best opening lines of a book of all time. 

Hi David here. What strikes me about these words is that they describe some of the reasons why people, armies, and countries go into battle.  Wisdom, foolishness, freedom, justice are some of the reasons and excuses for waging war.  Some wars have started over much smaller things. 

War is hard to miss.  There is often bloodshed, death, explosions, and countless casualties.  The media beams the images into our homes on a daily basis.  Somewhere it seems there is always a battle being fought.  War is obvious, blatant, and graphic.

Behind our eyes there is a battle going on.  Some call it spiritual warfare, some call it the battle between good and evil.  Whatever you call it is a real battle, although it is not immediately obvious. It’s a Holy struggle of the heart.

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.
~ Ephesians 6:11-13

What we need to remember is that this battle had already been won for us by Jesus.  He counted the cost, paid the price, and won the victory for all time.  This means we can be at peace.  It doesn’t mean we can be complacent, but we can stand in the knowledge that we have peace in the battle for our soul. When Jesus died on the cross, Satan thought he had won. He was mistaken.

Then came the cross; you thought you had won
You thought you had conquered God’s only Son
“So much for Jesus!” you said in jest
Then you got a visit from an unwelcomed guest
~ This Means War, Petra.

Simone Weil,  French philosopher, social activist and Christian once said, “ There are only two things that can pierce the human heart, beauty and affliction“.  I think it’s possible for both of these to happen at the same time.  Perhaps this is a useful way to think about our Holy struggle, our spiritual warfare, our beautiful battle.

This week I had the privilege and honour of having one of poems feature as part of an online book launch of Mary DeMuth’s latest book Beautiful Battle.  You can view it be clicking anywhere on this paragraph

Here’s my reflection on this beautiful battle.  What are you battling today?  What have been your experiences of your worst times and your best times?  You may like to share your story here or somewhere this week.  It may just help a fellow battler in ways you could never imagine.

Beautiful Battle

In this beautiful battle
Where you contend for me
In a war behind my eyes
That I often fail to see

In this beautiful battle
Remind me I am free
As I put on your light armor
Darkness stops then flees

In this beautiful battle
I am safe from all harm
You shelter me with your love
And hide me in your arms

In this beautiful battle
You speak to me from above
You tell me I am beautiful
I feel your extravagant love

In this beautiful battle
Where you captivate my heart
Your love and grace define me
As I become your work of art

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

