Houston, We Have A Problem

Apollo 13 was the 1995 American drama film directed by Ron Howard. The film stars Tom Hanks, Kevin Bacon, and Bill Paxton. The film dramatises the 1970 Apollo 13 lunar mission. Howard went to great lengths to create a technically accurate movie, employing NASA’s technical assistance in astronaut and flight controller training for his cast, and even obtaining permission to film scenes aboard a reduced gravity aircraft for the realistic depiction of the “weightlessness” experienced by the astronauts in space.

Astronauts James Lovell, Jack Swigert and Fred Haise are launched aboard Apollo 13 for America’s third Moon landing mission. Three days into the mission Swigert is told to perform a standard housekeeping procedure of stirring the two oxygen tanks.  When he flips the switch, one tank explodes, emptying its contents into space and sending the craft spinning.  This explosion deprives their spacecraft of most of its oxygen supply and electric power, forcing NASA’s flight controllers to abort the Moon landing, and turning the mission into a struggle to get the three men home safely.

Houston, we’ve a problem ~ Jack Swigert

This part of the film, when Swigert stirs the tank, is a defining moment.  Nothing is the same after this point.  The mission is aborted and the astronauts and the flight control team scramble to find a way to get Apollo 13 home safely.

This week I’ve been thinking about how God stirs our soul and reminds us of how he has set eternity in our hearts.  Sometimes we forget, but there are those fleeting moments when we realise that we are part of something much bigger than our own lives.  It can often be confronting.  Just like Apollo 13, it can send us spinning out of control.

Perhaps God stirs our soul (our spiritual tanks) occasionally to bring us back on track, and to focus us on what’s important.  I’m not sure about you but when God stirs my soul it knocks me sideways and forces me to choose.  To choose to see it as a problem and continue spinning or, to look for the opportunity to realign myself with the one who created me – for a purpose, for a reason, and with a plan in mind.

Perhaps you’d like to share your thoughts or experiences about how God stirs your soul.  If not here, then somewhere this week.  It may encourage someone who’s in a flat spin.  Will you do it?

Here’s my reflection on this.

Stir My Soul

I’m found in your perfect faith
For your faith
It stirs my soul

I’m found in your heart of hope
For your hope
It stirs my soul

I’m found in your eyes of joy
For your joy
It stirs my soul

I’m found in your arms of love
For your love
Has made me whole

He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.
Ecclesiastes 3:10-12

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

