A Heart of Worship

Rob here. One thing that’s hard in the Christian life is to stay centred in Christ throughout the day. Let’s face it, life and work is full of many distractions. Most of us are busy people and appropriately so. We have jobs to do, children to care for, homes to maintain, hobbies to pursue and meals to cook. There’s not a lot of time for many serene hours of contemplative prayer in there!

What I’ve been trying to cultivate in my life recently is a heart of worship. This came from a little tip by John Eldredge (who else!) who started saying “I love you Jesus” throughout his day. Sometimes it was when he ‘noticed’ God’s presence through a gentle breeze. sun on the back or simply stopping and remembering that God was with him. Other times it was a more deliberate act of worship.

I noticed that this act of deliberate worship was largely missing in my life. Yes, I worshipped on Sundays at church, sincerely and from the heart, but it wasn’t enough. I was drifting through the week, trying hard to fulfil my duties, but lacking joy and contentment for much of my time. By practicing saying “I love you Jesus” and engaging in worship before I got out of bed, I have noticed far more joy and peace in my heart. I feel engaged with life and centred in Jesus. I say it at different parts of the day too. I close my eyes and just start with that; “I love you Jesus” and I remember that I am his and he is mine. My heart fills with worship for my Lord, King, friend and brother Jesus.

Love is at the centre of the Christian life and it’s at the heart of our worship. God is love and you are loved by God. Out of his love for us we are asked to love God with all that we have and love our neighbour as ourselves. Loving ourselves means remembering that we are loved with an unconditional love by God; Father, Son and Spirit. We are his sons and daughters; friends; sisters and brothers. Meditate on that love and give it voice: “I love you Jesus!”

Matt Redman sums it up beautifully in his classic “The Heart of Worship” when he sings, “it’s all about you Jesus”. Have a listen below and check out the artwork!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

