New Beginnings

Hello, David here.  Great post by Road on the Narrow Way.  It made me stop and think about this journey that we call life and how sometimes it can seem that time is dragging.  Other times it seems to fly by.  It’s a real paradox.

At the height of my short-lived career as a busker I once made $60 in one hour on the streets of Wellington.  Just me, my bright yellow basket ball boots, my John Lennon reflective sunglasses,  my Granddad’s green hat, and my acoustic guitar.  Believe it or not the combination worked!  That was 20 years ago, while I was a studying at University.

I had a standard set of songs that I’d learnt which included a few well-known numbers by Dire Straits, Don McLean, Tom Petty, Simon & Garfunkel – The Boxer was my favourite, and even the odd Christian song just to mix things up a bit – that makes it evangalism, right? Just as well I’m saved by grace rather than works.

Now it’s 20 years later and I’m 41 – the same age that my Dad was when I was born, unsurprisingly he’s now 81.  Where did those years go? Reminds me of a verse from my favourite busking song:

Now the years are rolling by me
They are rockin’ evenly
I am older than I once was
And younger than I’ll be and that’s not unusual.
~ The Boxer (Simon & Garfunkel)

One of my son’s is now 10, he plays the guitar and is fast learning a selection of busking songs.  After regailing him with my many busking stories, he’s keen to go out and earn some money –  he wants me to go with him.  I’m quite excitied about the idea and getting back into the busking groove, and besides, kids are great to take busking because you always get more money – we’ll still have to split it though.  

It’s interesting to pause and reflect on how life moves on, the beginnings, middles and the endings, and how the years just seem to disappear in the busyness we call life.  Sometimes life can feel like a rollercoaster and then other times it can feel a bit like Groundhog Day.

Despite how will feel about life, I believe no experience is wasted and each experience teaches us something new, whether we realise it at the time, later or never.  We may not use all these learnings in our lifetime but it may just help us prepare for the next life.  Perhaps our journey through life is really just preparing us for our new beginning.  Here’s some  of my thoughts on this. I hope it strikes a chord with you. 

What’s your relection on this?  How has experience shaped your life?  Be bold and share your story here, it may inspire someone.

New Beginning

In the end
every tear is collected
dried and pressed into the book
by the one who cried with us

In the end
we are not forgotten
by the one who remembers
how he made us to love him

In the end
we are saved by grace
even though we use deeds
to work out our faith

In the end
every sacrifice ignored
is noticed by the one
who matters most

In the end
our journey is not in vain
as we step in his footprints
that will lead us home

In the end
we will all find our place
where life completes us
for our new begining

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

