Deep Love

Greetings!  David here.  Great post by Rob about how God pursues our heart. 

For three very long days now, I have had that old Bee Gees song – How Deep is Your Love going round and round my head and I just can’t get rid of it. Hopefully writing about it here will get it off my mind. The left side of my face is really starting to ache after repeatedly having to make the necessary facial expression to hit those classic falsetto notes. I really don’t know how they sing that high, it’s just – well – unnatural. 

So I’ll admit it, I like the occasional Bee Gees song.  Actually, just between you and me,  I really like their music.  You know, in the same way your friends really like ABBA music but they will never tell you. It’s OK if you like ABBA and the Bee Gees too. People just should come out and be honest about their muscial proclivities.

How Deep Is Your Love was recorded by the Bee Gees in 1977  (when I was seven). It was made famous as part of the soundtrack to the film Saturday Night Fever starring John Travolta – the man in the white tuxedo.  In the United States this song topped the Billboard Hot 100 on 24 December 1977  and stayed in the Top 10 for a then-record 17 weeks.

One of the verses of this song really speaks to my heart about my deep love for God and how often that I don’t show it to him or others.  It’s so easy to forget that maybe one of the reasons that God made us was to love him, and to have an intimate relationship with him.  I think that’s what God would want, and he would want us to say something like this:

I believe in you
You know the door to my very soul
You’re the light in my deepest, darkest hour
You’re my saviour when I fall
And you may not think I care for you
When you know down inside
That I really do

God’s love for us is so very deep.  He loves us in a way that is so immense, so unconditional, and with no strings attached.  I know in my heart that he loves me in spite of and because of myself, just because he made me and he doesn’t make junk.  I love that about God. Perhaps that’s why God is love. 

The familiar song that has been in my head for three days is still there but now it sounds so different.

Here’s my attempt to reflect on how deep God’s love really is.  I know I’ve only just scratched the surface.  What will your reflection be?

Deep Love

Long is the reach of your arm
As You hold out your hands from above
As I grasp your hands to pull me up
I recall the great length of your love

Deep is the well of your concern
As it fills from the rivers in flood
As I drink from your living water
I recall the great depth of your love

Wide is your circle of influence
Like a king with a crown and a robe
As I submit my life to your will
I recall the great width of your love

You took the sins of the world
Upon your shoulders so broad
How wide, how long, how high and how deep
Is your love –  my living Lord.

How wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ
~ Ephesians 3:18

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

