Medicine for the Heart

Rob here. I got an eye infection last week that made me look like I’d been in the middle of a barroom brawl. I bought some antibiotic cream and had to prise my eyelid open and spread this stuff around my eye socket. It was unpleasant but it worked. The swelling has come down and I no longer look like Richie McCaw after the World Cup final! Taking our medicine is simply one of the things we have to do when we’re sick if we want to get better. The same is true for our hearts.

If we want our hearts to be well, free, full of the life of God then there is medicine that we need to take. As to what medicine you have to take? That depends on how you answer the following question: What helps your heart to become fully alive to God? In other words, what makes your heart ‘soar on wings like eagles’ or be ‘filled with the joy of the Lord’?

I’ll give you my list to help you get started.

  • Watching my Bruce Springsteen DVD’s and singing along
  • Waterfalls
  • Hearing my children pray
  • Reading ‘Beautiful Outlaw’ by John Eldredge
  • BBQ’s in summer
  • Meditating on what Jesus really thinks of me and telling him what my heart thinks of him
  •  Golf on a sunny day
  • 2 uninterrupted hours with my wife!
  • Writing and speaking about God and the life of the heart
  • Listening to others share about their heart
  • Being by the ocean or lakes or rivers
  • Reading Scripture while surrounded by beauty

You’ll notice that a lot of my medicine is non-religious. God doesn’t just meet with us at church on a Sunday morning. In fact I know many who struggle to connect with God the most on Sunday morning! Church still matters but it’s the sum total of our life of faith. Far from it! God wants our hearts to be alive in him. So here’s his invitation. Go do the things that help your heart to become fully alive! Make your list and do more of those things. It will be amazing how much closer God will seem! That’s because your list is full of invitations from God to be with him. Let me know your list. We’d love to hear from you. In the meantime ponder these words of Jesus:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me – watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  Matthew 11:28-30 (The Message)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

