Refiner’s Fire

I think if most of us are honest we can all relate to Rob’s last post on Beyond Feelings.  Even though we may feel spiritually flat at times, God is always at work pruning, shaping and refining.

Fire, according to Wikipedia,  is the rapid oxidation of a material in the chemical process of combustion, releasing heat, light, and various reaction products. The flame is the visible portion of the fire and consists of glowing hot gases. If hot enough, the gases may become ionized to produce plasma. Depending on the substances alight, and any impurities outside, the color of the flame and the fire’s intensity will be different.

The bible has a lot to say about fire and how it is used to refine, purify and test our faith.

These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed ~1 Peter 1:7

Sometimes my faith has been tested, in fact it often feels like more of an ordeal.  I heard someone once describe it as the ‘crucible experience’.  You probably know what this is like, it’s the dark tea time of your soul when it just feels like you and a tiny bit of faith.  Fortunately faith only needs to be that small and tiny. About the size of a mustard seed. 

How has your crucible experiences made you stronger?  How has you faith been honed and refined? Here’s my reflection on how God uses fire in our heart to refine us.

The Crucible

In the fireplace of my heart
I’ve screwed up paper thoughts,
I’ve stacked my wooden feelings
Into piles of different sorts.

Light the fire in my heart
Let in burn with holy fear,
Draw me closer to your flame
I want to be so near.

As your fire dies in my heart
Let your embers start to glow
May your spirit wind blow on me
Fan the flame and make me whole

In my heart let there be light
As you burn in me your flame
I pray that I and those I meet
May never be the same

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Refiner’s Fire

Leave a Reply

