Feeling the Pain

I did my back in this morning. I bent down to help a child in the creche as I was wandering through to the foyer, and, POP, there went my lower back. I made it back up, just, and am now very aware that I have a backbone!

My back pain is acute but not serious. The most serious pain we suffer in this world doesn’t come from broken bones or pulled muscles. It comes from heartbreak and heartache. It comes from losing heart and losing soul. It comes from insults, abuse and bullying. It comes from repeated failures and profound loneliness. It comes from rejection, dejection and subjection. Or more accurately, it comes from the interpretation that we place on those things. It comes from the agreements we make and the messages we tell ourselves in the midst of life’s events.

We get the 10th job rejection in a row and we tell ourselves we’re a loser and unwanted. Another relationship ends and we tell ourselves that we’re ugly and undesirable. We fail another test and we believe that we’re stupid. Do you get the picture?

Paul writes this in 2 Corinthians 4:14-18, “…we know that the one who raised Jesus from the dead will also raise us with Jesus and present us with you to himself…Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is seen is eternal.”

It’s not the world, your parents, your bosses, your abusers, your spouse or your children that have the last word on your life. It is God. And he loves you.

My back pain is sending me to physio, and anti-inflammateries. It will heal and recover. Where are you going with your heartbreak and heartache? Too many go to food, the bottle, the internet, TV and so on. There is no eternal solution for internal problems. We must go to the lover of our soul, the keeper of our hearts. We must go to Jesus. Your aching and wounded heart is reminding you that you have a heart and it needs to be restored.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

