Hungry Heart

As you can tell David is an unashamed fan of Amy Grant (this takes a very unique personality, which David is!). I’m the same when it comes to the music of Bruce Springsteen (the same thing might apply here!). He may not be as good-looking as Amy but his music speaks to my heart a lot more. What’s really interesting isn’t what our musical tastes are but that God speaks to our hearts in very unique, very personal ways. God’s love for us is more intimate and personal than we ever imagined!

As far as I know Bruce isn’t a Christian but he strikes me as a seeker. He’s not afraid to ask the big questions and probe deeply into the human condition. He once wrote that “everybody’s got a hungry heart.” What he didn’t go on to explain was that we’re hungry for God. Ecclesiastes 3:11 says, “He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” We hunger to know God but because God is The Eternal One he can seem very unknowable. As mortal creatures eternity can seem too much for us.

This leaves us with 2 choices. Give up or keep seeking. There’s only one way to satisfy the eternal hunger in your heart – by being filled with God. Jesus says, “seek and you will find (Luke 11:9)” and seek we must. Hunger drives us to find food. A hungry heart drives us to find God. Life in Jesus is described as “life in all its fullness (John 10:10).” So seek him and you will find him.

 1 “Come, all you who are thirsty,
   come to the waters;
and you who have no money,
   come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk
   without money and without cost.
2 Why spend money on what is not bread,
   and your labor on what does not satisfy?
Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good,
   and you will delight in the richest of fare. (Isaiah 55:1-2)

Meanwhile here’s a Bruce taster!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hungry Heart

  1. Gary says:

    Hey Rob,

    I was just looking into something similar from the sermon on the mount. It backs up all you have said here: Matthew 5:6 “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.” I like that it is a promise: “shall” be satisfied.

    btw: I’m with you on when it comes to Bruce v Amy – sorry Dave. Then again, the only two Amy songs I have any real familiarity with are Baby Baby and El Shaddai…

    Gary

    • Thanks for the feedback Gary. I have to admit that “Lead Me On” was a pretty good album. I bought it for my Mum but kept listening to it myself. Then she brought out ‘Baby, baby’ and I haven’t listened to much since! I love the promise too. Our hunger and thirst aren’t permanent conditions!

  2. Gary, I agree it is an excellent promise. Actually, just between you and me, there are a couple of Bruce’s songs that I really like, ‘City of Ruins’ and “Born in the USA’. Whatever you do, DON’T tell Rob. You need to try Amy Grant’s latest album, ‘Somewhere Down the Road’. Cheers, David

Leave a Reply

