Help Required – Apply Within

Hi, David here. I think I may have mentioned this before, I am and have been for some time a big fan of Amy Grant.  She seems to be one of those artists that has a song for every occasion, every struggle in life and every celebration.
 
In a classic song by Amy Grant called ‘All I Ever Have to Be’  there is one verse that does it for me:
And all I ever have to be
Is what you’ve made me.
Any more or less would be a step
Out of your plan.

I’ve been thinking about God’s plan for my life lately, specifically: (a) if he has one, (b) what is it, (c) am I in step with it, and (d) all of the above.  The answer though may not be multi-choice.   It’s always been comforting for me to know that God is in control and that all I ever have to be is what he made me.  Still, I do keep wondering about the big questions though:
 
What am I here to do?
What is my ministry?
What is my calling?
Am I in or out of God’s will?
What is the desire that God has placed within my heart?

No doubt some, if not all, of these questions I’ll be working on for most of my life.  I do think I’m starting to get some answers too. I’m starting to realise that dealing with big questions is just a part of life and this is OK and is a helpful thing to do.
 
This week I read the Old Testament book of Micah.  It just so happened to have a list of three things that God requires of us.  They are reasonably large things, but there are only three.  What are they?  Skip to the end of this post and have a look. 
 
So, I might just have a crack at this over the next few weeks and months and see how I get on.  So what about you?  Have you found what you’re looking for?  What questions and answers are you working on? 
 
Help Required ,  Apply Within.
 
Show me what you require
In my walk with you.
Down the road, the narrow way
Where the travellers are few.
 
Help me to love mercy
As I go about my days.
Let me take the opportunity
To help others on their way.
 
Help me to act justly
In all that say and do.
Broaden my horizons
Lord help me change my view.
 
Help me to be humble
As I walk with you.
Down the road, the narrow way
Where the travellers are few.
 
He has shown all you people what is good.   And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God. ~ Micah 6:8.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

