To whom would we go?

"I lift up my eyes...where does my help come from."Rob here. Great post by David on faith and doubt. I love Peter on this in John 6. Jesus is doing some hard teaching about eating his flesh and drinking his blood; in other words if you want life you have to participate in my death. It’s too hard for many who have been following him and they leave. Jesus turns to the 12 and says, “Are you also going to leave?” It’s make or break time. Are they in or are they out? “Simon Peter replied, ‘Lord to whom would we go? You have the words that give eternal life. We believe, and we know you are the Holy One of God (John 6:68-69).'”

Peter is not pretending to understand everything that Jesus is saying or know what kind of Messiah Jesus was. He only knew that Jesus was the Messiah and, therefore, he was in with bells on! Peter went on to do some dumb things (deny Jesus 3 times), and some memorable things (preach the 1st sermon at Pentecost – over 3000 come to faith in Christ – good impact!), but in the end it was all about Jesus. Not the concept of Jesus but the person of Jesus. Peter knew that he was most alive and free when he was with Jesus.

That’s my testimony too. When I’m feeling stuck in life, having doubts about God’s call, I remember that it’s all about Jesus and my place in him. I die his death, live his life and share his glory. What’s true for Jesus is true for me. I remember that in him is life and life in all it’s fullness. I’ve tried a lot of substitutes but none of them work. Only Jesus knows my heart and sets me free.

Does this mean I never doubt? No, but it gives me a pathway through my doubt. It tells me that doubt is in my head and not in my heart. We have a brand new heart remember! Doubt is not the truest thing about me. My identity in Christ is.

John 10:10 says, “The thief comes only to steal, kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” Doubt can lead to life if we bring  our doubts before Jesus in an honest and open way. But the enemy can also use doubt to ‘steal, kill and destroy’ if we try and deal with them from our own resources. In other words we need a foundation of faith if we’re ever going to deal with our doubts! It’s because I am loved, chosen and free in Christ that I am able to lament, question, grieve, offer brokeness, rant, weep and doubt before him and in his presence. In the end, Peter’s on the money; “to whom would we go?” Jesus alone has the words of eternal life. Jesus alone is the Holy One of God. Jesus alone sets our hearts free and gives us life; “…blessed are those who have not seen  and yet have believed (John 20:29).”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

