A Faithful Heart

I don’t know about you but I struggle a lot with doubt.  In fact having just reviewed my blog for my most used tags, number one is faith, closely followed by number two, doubt.  I write about doubt a lot.

This is really of little surprise to me, but it did confirm that my doubts still really bug me.  Doubts about me, doubts about whether anyone might actually read or understand this, doubts about my future, and of course doubts about God.  Not really about God existing, but more about ‘Why does God let bad stuff happen to good people’ and all those old chestnuts.

I’m not sure I’m much further ahead on the faith journey and I think I may just have even more doubts now than before.  As I get older I’m less certain about a lot of things and have a lot more questions.  Doubts inform my questions, and my questions help me to seek answers, and my answers define my faith.  It’s an interesting connection and in some way I guess my doubts make my faith stronger, just as what doesn’t kill me also makes me stronger.

In Ephesians 6 there is that wonderful image about the amour of God.  In the amour of God, faith is the shield, like the Romans used.  A shield with which we can extinguish the flaming arrows of the evil one (Ephesians 6:16).  I like that image , it works for me.  It does require action. It requires us to ‘take up the shield’ and summon up the courage to defend ourselves.

So through my journey of faith I’m learning about what it means to have a heart full of faith.  So what has faith taught you?

By Faith

Grey clouds of doubt
Swirl in my mind,
They chase my thoughts
From time to time.

My faith is so small
Yet is it devout,
My doubts are loud
So I need to shout.

I will not let them
Take my light,
It will not be hidden
In your night.

The clouds they part
Then disappear,
The air is still
I sense you near.

You order my thoughts
To quiet my soul.
You restore my faith
And make me whole.

So by faith, I’m sure
Of what I don’t see
You are my one true hope
In reality.

Take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one
~ Ephesians 6:16

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Faithful Heart

  1. Gary says:

    I like John Henry Newman’s take on this:
    “Ten thousand difficulties do not make one doubt.”

Leave a Reply

