Desire and God’s voice

Hi, Rob here. Have you ever heard God speak to you? What is your gut reaction to that question? Preposterous? Crazy? Yes, sort of? I think so? Hmmm, tell me more? I’m currently reading a book by John Eldredge called Walking with God.  The subtitle tells it all – “Talk to him. Hear from him. Really.” Don’t you want that? I do, I really do.

Recently God told me to go to Hawaii. I know you all want God to say that to you!! Let me put it into context. For a few years now I’ve been inviting God to do heart surgery on me. On my journey I came across the work of John Eldredge and  Ransomed Heart ministries. Check them out here: www.ransomedheart.com. In particular his books Wild at Heart; The Way of the Wild Heart (now called Fathered by God) and Desire plus his DVD Epic spoke deeply to my heart; to the very core of who I am. By reading and praying my way through these works I experienced a depth of healing and forgiveness that I hadn’t known since I became a Christian 23 years ago as a 16 year old (yes, I turn 40 this year!). I’ll share more of my story in subsequent blogs.

Anyhow, one of the key activities run by Ransomed Heart are Wild at Heart boot camps (click events on their website for more info). The latest one was in Hawaii. The desire of my heart was to go. No question. At the very same time I questioned it. Too much money. Too little time. Too hard on my little family and so on. How many invitations from God have I missed out on because I was cheap! Or didn’t want hassle or inconvenience! Too many.

But God didn’t let me get away with it this time. I couldn’t shake it off. My wife said do it. My friends said do it. God had already said do it! So I did it. And I was blessed. I’ll share more about the trip itself in my next blog. But for now I want to remind you that God knows the deepest desires of your heart because he put them there. Your deepest desire is Him! That’s why he wants to speak to you. “He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice (John 10:3-4).”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

